knowledge at its pinnacle

Some people’s advice will only add vice to your life

Champions League Postponed

The tournament has been postponed to next OCTOBER

Business in Cricket

This year’s edition of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament has been cancelled over security concerns following last month’s Mumbai attacks, organisers said on Friday. The inaugural edition of the $6 million event, involving eight teams from five countries, will now be staged in October 2009, an official told Reuters. However, league chairman Lalit Modi said various issues, including scheduling, were considered before taking the decision. “The inaugural edition of the Champions League Twenty20 will now be held in India in October 2009,” Modi, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) vice-president, said in a statement. “The governing council, comprising the founder board members, took this collective decision after taking into account all aspects.” The governing council, comprising the Indian, Australian and South African cricket boards, also took into consideration the busy international calendar and domestic schedules of the participating teams, it added. Teams from Australia, England, Pakistan, South Africa and India were due to have played in the event originally scheduled from Dec. 3 to 10 in Mumbai, Bangalore and Chennai. At least 179 people were killed in the three-day siege in Mumbai from Nov. 26, triggering player safety fears ahead of the initial postponement. England’s national squad suspended their tour of India and flew home but returned on Monday following security assurances to play in a two-test series which began on Thursday. League officials confirmed two teams each from India, Australia and South Africa for next year’s Champions League and that other participants would be finalised by the end of next month

December 13, 2008 Posted by | cricket | , , , , , | Leave a comment

Champions League Schedule


Inaugural Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament will take place in Mumbai, Bangalore and Chennai from December 3rd to December 10th. Middlesex Crusaders of England will take on Victoria Bushrangers of Australia in the opening match of the Champions League Twenty20 Cricket tournament. Eight teams from 4 national T20 leagues (India, Australia, England and South Africa) will compete in this prestigious tournament.

1st match: December 3rd in Mumbai.

1st Semi final: December 8th in Bangalore.

2nd Semi final: December 9th in Chennai.

The Final of the Champions League Twenty20 cricket will be played on December 10th Chennai.

Champions league groups:

Group A: Middlesex (England T20 Champion), Victoria Bushrangers, Pretoria Titans and Chennai Super Kings (IPL).

Group B: Dolphins (South Africa), Western Australia Warriors, Sialkot Stallions and Rajasthan Royals. This is the “Group of Death”.

Indian music legend A.R. Lehman will compose music for the official anthem of Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament.

ESPN Star Sports acquired broadcasting rights of inaugural Champions League T20 Cricket rights for 10

years by paying $975 million

November 14, 2008 Posted by | cricket | , , , , , , | Leave a comment